As transparent as a weed lawn

Weed Lawn

Wise gardeners say, “If you plant weed seeds, you won’t get much of a lawn, but it could be green.”

I took the pleasure to re-read Steven MR Covey’s book, The Speed of Trust. As is my habit, this second read caused me to ponder on how trust-building impacts my relationships and how to incorporate this more fully into my product marketing practice.

I think it’ll take a third read [and maybe a fourth], but for now, this is what I learned:

  • Honesty (congruence) – do I walk the talk? Do I stand for something positive?
  • Motive and behavior (trust building) – do I intend and promote an agenda based on the best interests of others?
  • Go with strengths (capabilities) – do I know where I am going? Is this clear to others? Am I accelerating my growth and others’ abilities too?
  • Track record (responsible) – it’s not enough to say I’ll do it, I have to DO it!

What’s all this got to do with planting weed seeds? Plenty – let me explain.

A weed seed generally looks the same as grass seed. Weed seeds are planted and grow the same as grass seed. The final results are worlds apart.

If as a leader I do not act consistently with honesty and congruency, I sow weed seeds. The lawn is still “green” but filled with nasty things. Non-sustainable. Such a waste.

˜™

About prdmkgblackbelt

UConn MBA - GO Lady Huskies! UGA Mom, quasi geek, techno-catalyst, NPDP, PrdMktg, reads Campbell & Covey, black belt from Hoshido. Loves sunrises; believes sunsets are promises.
This entry was posted in Tactical PrdMkgBlackbelt and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to As transparent as a weed lawn

  1. Came across your site via yahoo the other day and absolutely like it. Continue the great work.

Leave a Reply

